Restaurant CulinariC
Jöss, Styria

Concept and atmosphere

The CulinariC café-restaurant is located in the newly constructed Glyzinienhof at the entrance to Eybesfeld palace park. Strong design influences therefore arose from the juxtaposition of rural versus urban, primal versus cultivated. This also fits in with the intention to present wine in collaboration with a winemaker. Wine culture starts with cultivation of the landscape by the winemaker.

Two elements have a particular architectural effect: the terrace made of Bangkirai wood with a warm, reddish-brown tone, running through the guest area almost like a carpet, and the louvre ceiling in brushed Douglas pine, defining the space and under which guests can make themselves comfortable.

The colour scheme corresponds with colours already found in nature, arising with the change of seasons, such as fresh green, dark brown earth or snow. There is an atmospheric association with the delicate lilac of wisteria or the warm light of the evening sun perhaps.

Client: Bertran Conrad-Eybesfeld
Floor area:128,98 m²
Planning: Architektin Irmgard Frank
Staff: DI Christoph Haas, DI Claudia Scheyerer,
DI Tilo Perkmann
Start of planning: Dezember 2005
Completion: Dezember 2006


Preview

Restaurant CulinariC
Jöss, Steiermark

Konzept und Atmosphäre

Das Café-Restaurant CulinariC ist im neu errichteten Glyzinienhof am Eingang des Schlossparks Eybesfeld situiert. Entwurfsbestimmend waren daher die Antipoden rural – urban, ursprünglich – kultiviert. Dies trifft sich auch mit dem Vorhaben, gemeinsam mit einem Winzer Wein zu präsentieren. Weinkultur beginnt mit der Kultivierung der Landschaft durch den Winzer.

Architektonisch räumlich sind zwei Elemente wirksam: die Terrasse aus Bangkirai in einem warmen rotbraunen Holzton, die gleichsam wie ein Teppich durch das Lokal fließt und die raumdefinierende Lamellendecke aus gebürsteter Douglaskiefer, unter der es sich die Gäste bequem machen können.

Das Farbklima korrespondiert mit in der Natur bereits vorhandenen und über die Jahreszeiten wechselnden Farben, wie etwa frisches Grün, dunkle braune Erde oder Schnee. Atmosphärisch assoziativ finden sich das feine Lila der Glyzinien, oder etwa das warme Licht der Abendsonne wieder.

Klient: Bertran Conrad-Eybesfeld
Nutzfläche:128,98 m²
Planung: Architektin Irmgard Frank
Mitarbeiter: DI Christoph Haas, DI Claudia Scheyerer,
DI Tilo Perkmann
Planungsbeginn: Dezember 2005
Fertigstellung: Dezember 2006


Preview